Jul 16th 2019

MICHAEL MORLEY is a New Zealand based sound artist and visual artist. His work across a range of genre confirms his abilities as an artist, composer, improvisor, performer, and producer. Responsible for over 100 audio releases from 1985 to 2019 as GATE, THE DEAD C., THE RIGHTEOUS YEAH, THE F*CK CHAIRS, SUN VALLEY, and many other collaborations and solo recordings. The development of Music for The Never Quartet has come from a thirty year exploration of the guitar and of sound as art.

Music for The Never Quartet seeks to employ the resonating qualities of wooden acoustic guitars placed upon items of wooden furniture to reveal connections between time and space by sonically activating the instruments and the other wooden objects within architectural structures.

During a performance the audience will be encouraged to record and play back loops of the quartet on their personal mobile devices so as to contribute to the composition and performance in real-time, extending the possibilities of the compositional form to include the composer, performer and the audience.

7PM // $20 (adv.), $22 // 18+


Official Website

More events on this date

Tags: , , , , ,