Oct 21st 2018

Chicago Dancemakers Forum celebrates its 15th Anniversary year with Elevate Chicago Dance 2018, a full-day of free performances, installations, workshops and discussions by 45 Chicago dancemakers on Sunday, October 21 at the Chicago Cultural Center, in partnership with the City of Chicago’s Department of Cultural Affairs and Special Events (DCASE).

The broadly defined theme of the day explores intersections between Dance, Space, Race, and Place. The Elevate Chicago Dance 2018 artists, through a diverse range of dance and interdisciplinary works, make connections with current ideas about the dynamics between race, social spaces, and personal and body histories. For artists as well as for public audiences, the cultural, political and architectural history of the Chicago Cultural Center building is a powerful setting for these relevant considerations. Dance performances will activate all the floors and multiple public areas of the landmark Chicago Cultural Center, including the Claudia Cassidy Theater, GAR Hall, the Dance Studio, and Preston Bradley Hall.

The Elevate Chicago Dance 2018 participating artists and companies include:
Ayodele Drum & Dance
Elysia C. Banks/ Banks Performance Project
BraveSoul Movement
Paige Caldarella
Peter Carpenter
Asimina Chremos
Margi Cole
Deeply Rooted Dance Theater
Emma Draves
Joanna Furnans
Brittany Harlin
Hedwig Dances
HoneyPot Chicago
A House Unbuilt/Victoria Bradford
J’Sun Howard
Ayako Kato/Art Union Humanscape
Erin Kilmurray
Ginger Krebs
Fujima Yoshinojo/Rika Lin
Lucky Plush Productions
Molly Shanahan/Mad Shak
Mandala Arts
Carole McCurdy
Mordine & Company
Margaret Morris
Erica Mott Productions
Nadia Oussenko
Onye Ozuzu/Ozuzu Dances
Po’Chop/Jenn Freeman
Nico Rubio/333
Same Planet Performance Project
Darling Shear
Catherine Sullivan
Synapse Arts
The Humans
The Seldoms
Monica Thomas
Visceral Dance Chicago
Rob Welcher
Anna Martine Whitehead
Nejla Yatkin/NY2Dance
Megan Young
Sara Zalek

Produced in connection with Elevate Chicago Dance 2018 will be a Crystal Anniversary Brunch with Honorary Chair, Chicago Mayor Rahm Emanuel, and Honorary Co-Chairs: Michelle Boone, Dr. Kwang-Wu Kim, and Roell Schmidt.

Official Website

More events on this date

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,