Sep 21st 2019

MAKE 18 “Mad Science” Release Party—Poetry

@ Danny's Bar

1951 W Dickens Ave, Chicago, IL 60614

Opening Saturday, September 21st, from 7PM - 9PM

On view through Saturday, September 21st

MAKE #18 “Mad Science” Release Party

Join us as we celebrate our final print issue and transition to a fully online experience.

Release #1—poetry

Olivia Cronk
Ish Klein
Jacob Saenz
Phil Sorenson
Sara Wainscott

With special musical guest
Bill MacKay

Hosted by Jessica Anne and Joel Craig

Saturday, September 21
7-9 pm

Danny’s Tavern
1951 W Dickens Ave

Paul Nudd, Stuffed Bottom Feeders, 2019. Acrylic and paper collage on canvas. Photograph by James Prinz. Courtesy of Western Exhibitions, Chicago.

Olivia Cronk is the author of Skin Horse (Action Books, 2012) and Louise and Louise and Louise (The Lettered Streets Press, 2016), and co-editor of The Journal Petra. She teaches writing at Northeastern Illinois University.

Poet and filmmaker Ish Klein grew up in Long Island and was educated at Columbia University and the Iowa Writers’ Workshop. Klein’s poetry collections include Consolation and Mirth (2015), Moving Day (2011) and Union! (2009). Her poems have also appeared in the magazines Fence, Jubilat, and Epiphany, among many others. She lives with her partner Greg Purcell in Chicago, Illinois and works in theater.

Jacob Saenz is the author of Throwing the Crown, winner of the 2018 APR/Honickman First Book Prize, selected by Gregory Pardlo. He serves as an associate editor for RHINO.

Philip Sorenson is the author of two full-length collections, Of Embodies (Rescue Press, 2012) and Solar Trauma (Rescue Press, 2018), and a handmade book, New Recordings (Another New Calligraphy, 2018). He is the co-editor, with Olivia Cronk, of The Journal Petra.

Sara Wainscott is the author of Queen of the Moon (dancing girl press, 2017).

Musical guest

Bill MacKay cut his teeth in various bands and projects spanning genres across the United States, and has created an extensive body of original work, while energizing the folk, avant-garde, and experimental diaspora.

MacKay’s blissful harmonic control and just-outside-the-box guitar mastery are one with his compelling songwriting, and his creative voyage and imaginative influences are fully displayed on his most recent solo records: Fountain Fire (Drag City, 2019) Esker (Drag City, 2017), and SpiderBeetleBee (Drag City, 2017) his second duo set with Ryley Walker.

These recordings along with his unmatched live performances reveal a startling range – from the folk of Appalachia, avant-rock, and blues to jazz, raga-esque excursions, and western modes. MacKay’s music has received praise in reviews by the Chicago Reader, Mojo, The Ear, Uncut, Downbeat, Paste, Pitchfork and New City among other publications.

Official Website

More events on this date

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,