Dec 16th 2018

Join us for the monthly “Sunday Reading Series: Poetry, Prose, & Cocktails” that will be held at Hungry Brain on Sunday, December 16th at 6:30 pm (doors open at 6:30 and readings begin at 7:00). We will be featuring Ruben Quesada, Rebecca Morgan Frank, Rachel Mennies, and Annah Browning. Please join us for a night of revelry, readings, and community engagement!

RUBEN QUESADA is a contributing editor at Chicago Review of Books. He serves as faculty at Northwestern University, The School of the Art Institute, and Columbia College Chicago, where he teaches Latinx literature and poetry writing. His chapbook of poetry and translations, Revelations, is available from Sibling Rivalry Press, an inclusive publishing house whose entire catalog is housed in the Library of Congress’ Rare Book and Special Collections division.

REBECCA MORGAN FRANK is the author of Sometimes
We’re All Living in a Foreign Country (2017) and
The Spokes of Venus (2016), both from Carnegie Mellon University Press, and Little Murders Everywhere, a finalist for the Kate Tufts Discovery Award. Her poems have appeared in The New Yorker, American Poetry Review, Ploughshares, Guernica, and elsewhere. She is co-founder and editor of the literary magazine Memorious, and in Spring 2019 she will be the Distinguished Visiting Writer at Bowling Green State University.

ANNAH BROWNING hails from the foothills of South Carolina and currently lives in Chicago, where she is an instructor in the UIC Honors College and the English department. She holds an MFA from Washington University in St. Louis and a Ph.D. from the Program for Writers at The University of Illinois-Chicago, and she is the author of a chapbook, The Marriage (Horse Less Press, 2013). Her poems have appeared in Black Warrior Review, The Kenyon Review Online, Painted Bride Quarterly, Willow Springs, and others, and have received awards and recognition from Boulevard, Indiana Review, Blue Mesa Review, and Vermont Studio Center. She is poetry editor of Grimoire, a literary magazine of dark arts, and co-creator of Heloise & Wulf, an online interactive horror game.

RACHEL MENNIES is the author of The Glad Hand of God Points Backwards, winner of the 2014 Walt McDonald First-Book Prize in Poetry and finalist for a National Jewish Book Award, and the chapbook No Silence in the Fields. Recent poems of hers have appeared in Crazyhorse, Colorado Review, Black Warrior Review, Drunken Boat, Poet Lore, and elsewhere. Since 2016, Mennies serves as the series editor of the Walt McDonald First-Book Prize in Poetry at Texas Tech University Press. She currently teaches in the low-residency MFA at Chatham University and is a member of AGNI’s editorial staff. She lives in Chicago.

Official Website

More events on this date

Tags: , , , , , , , ,