Opening Sunday, June 10th, from 11AM - 5PM
On view through Sunday, June 10th
The Elmhurst Art Museum has announced that the highly anticipated restoration of the original facade of Mies van der Rohe’s McCormick House (1952) will be officially unveiled to the public Sunday, June 10, 2018. The iconic carport entrance of this historically significant building — one of only three single-family houses built by Mies in the U.S. — will be visible for the first time in more than 20 years, having been obscured by an addition connecting it to the Museum since 1997. Elmhurst’s Heritage Architecture Studio is working with Elmhurst Art Museum Executive Director John McKinnon to oversee the historic preservation by Berglund Construction. This unveiling marks a major transformation of the house, and one part of a multi-phase restoration plan which will continue with the interior at a later date.